Got a tough networking question...

94jedi94jedi Member Posts: 177
Hey all, first a little background. I'm a network admin at my compnay, The only network admin. My boss, is the "IT Director" but he doesn't do much of the Admin work, he does more of the policy's etc (Although due to one of our guys being laid off, he's doing more admin stuff now). We have about 120 employees in 5 sites, w/ about 60 people in our main site where I work out of primarily. We just had out print server crash a few days ago. I was in the middle of moving roles and responsibilities from that server to a new server that was going to assume all those roles but it crashed before I finished. Among the roles that I hadn't transferred yet were print server duties.

So, now that I've got all the printers transferred and installed on all the local(local meaning the main site) pc's, We're suddenly having slowness issues when opening MS Word docs over the network. I haven't changed anything on our data server which holds those word docs. So far, the only correlation is the time frame in which this slowness problem manifested itself. it seems to coincide w/ the print server crash.

I'm wondering if maybe MS docs somehow maintain printer info (from the creating pc). Now that those printer share names and print server names are different, I'm thinking that's causing some issues with word trying to reconnect to the old, non-existent printers.

thoughts?
HAIL TO THE REDSKINS!!!

Comments

• UnixGeekUnixGeek Member Posts: 151
    Sounds like it's time to break out a packet sniffer. Is traffic other than MS Word docs being slowed down as well? If you open up a Word doc that's located on a local drive, does it run at normal speed?
  • Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Ping time to the server from a workstation? Are they all in the same VLAN?