Options

Studying for my CCNA

billscott92787billscott92787 Member Posts: 933
Hello,

I am currently studying for my CCNA and would like to set up a hands on lab at home. I currently have been using the simulation software Dynamips to practice using the Cisco IOS and the functions within it. I have been checking out Ciscokits website and I seen a package for $549.99. This package on their website describes the following:

It comes with two 2500 routers and one 2610 router. The 2500s will be maxed out on memory at 16/16 and the 2610 will be maxed out at 64/16 so you can support IPv6 for the new exam. The 2501 router comes with a transceiver as will the 2514 which can also be used for Cable/DSL routing and your NAT/PAT labs. Then we add in a 2610 so you get exposure to a modular router in the 2600 series and the nm-4a/s serial card so you can also use the router as a frame-relay router. Our kits have console kits, serial cards, back to back cables and the latest IOS software. You will also receive three 2924 or 2924M switches which supports 12.0.05.

Do you think this is sufficient for the CCNA or too much? Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    captobviouscaptobvious Member Posts: 648
    I wouldn't buy this kit. You can do better on Ebay buying bits and pieces. You'll want one router that can support SDM. If you're going to get a 2600 series router make sure it's an XM model.

2924 switches are about useless, you could use a 2924-XL-EN as a cheap third switch. You want 2950's.
  • Options
    Thanks for the reply. Anyone with experience, what equipment would you recommend. Which series routers and which series of switches. I see that the captobvious' previous post recommended 2950 switches. What about routers?
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Check out the FAQ or some of the other lab posts and you should have the majority of your questions answered.