Options

Master of Science in Internetworking vs. job experience

bugsybugsy Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I'm considering taking this masters degree, as it seems to have quite a few interesting classes and is aimed towards Cisco / CCNP, which I am studying for on my own at the moment: UTS: C04160v5 Master of Science in Internetworking - UTS Handbook 2009.

I finished my bachelor degree a while ago, and I have a CCNA and about 3 years work experience (it was 4 years ago, and mostly related to Windows 2000/2003 server administration - some, but limited networking stuff - mostly configuring linux based firewalls).

I am looking for work in the networking field, but haven't had any luck as of yet... So I'm trying to figure out if I should just go for some helpdesk job while studying for the CCNP on my own, or if I should go for the aforementioned masters degree which takes 1 1/2 year to complete. The tution is about 40k AUD, which is about 32K USD. If also taking loss of income into account, its quite a bit of money...

Anyone have any suggestions as to what I should do? I'm trying to think long term here... and whether 1.5 years more experience would be better than the master?

Comments

• Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    Only you can decide what's best you. If it were me, I'd keep plugging away at he job experience and then do an M.S. in something like Comp Sci or Comp Engineering. Maybe an MBA if you wanted to move into management.

A CCNP can be obtained on your own, all you need is the will and drive to do it. Case in point, we have a guy at work with an M.S. degree who works in Tier 1 while some of the Tier II guys have no degree. They have the experience though... that trumps it all.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■