Options

Kindly Guide Onto Right Path

royal.aroyal.a Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I am an electronics engineer with basic knowledge of computers & networking. I also have an Mba. I am in the marketing line at present.

That all said I'm switching turf to Info Sec. I know its a Broad term but honestly I a n00b in this domain. My passion for the field and to do something worthwhile has led me to leave my current job and study masters in info sec from UK this year.

I am about to join the course in 2 months time. Can someone tell me what path I should choose? I am not a programmer and don't wish to get into that sphere :)

I've been thinking about Linux, CCNA Security, CEH.......I don't have any certifications right now.

Kindly guide me where to start from ?

PS: I will be sitting for the CISSP at the end of my masters as its a part of my curriculum.

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    For starting a career in InfoSec, you should really read through as many of the posts here at TechExams.net as possible, especially those on InfoSec jobs, certifications, and education. Lots of people here--including myself--have been successful in moving into an InfoSec career from some other IT specialization.

Part of the difficultly in making the move can be in choosing what area(s) of InfoSec to specialize in. It's a very broad field with many choices. To give you an idea, the CISSP CBK divides InfoSec up into ten broad and diverse domains of knowledge. They can range from cryptography to systems/network administration to security policies/processed to financial auditing. And there are plenty of subdomains in each domain as as well. After doing some research, you will typically develop a "gut feel" of what you want to do based on your past experiences.