Options

70-271 tomorrow 3pm

buttonsbuttons Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well last friday our CIO asked the helpdesk to get MCDST certified. Last winter I was studying for the MCSA and got tired of it... took a break. Currently I only hold CompTia A+ and MCP (70-620) exam.

I glanced at 70-271 and assumed since Ive been doing this job for nine years it would be a walk in the park. I scheduled my exam which gave me five days to prepare and then realized that might of been a mistake. I have never done a remote installation, worked with NTFS permissions, or upgraded a windows 98 computer to XP. I mean 7 years ago i vaguely remember dual booting, but these days we come across a PC with even windows 2000 and we toss it in the garbage bin.

Ive come to realize there is a lot more to windows XP then what my average end user deals with and feeling a bit nervous. Ive been taking microsoft press book practice test all weekend which has my average scores around 85% -- mostly because ive memorized the answer to the questions :-/

Some of the questions I get wrong are not because I lack the knowledge, but because in my experience things are different. One question in mind is: a user cannot get logged in to the computer with an "invalid username or password" the correct answer is her caps lock key is toggled (which is the first thing I would ask a user, *num lock too) but 9 times out of 10 it turns out to be they forgot their password. I alsmost wish the test was all essay.

Ill let you guys know how it goes tomorrow afternoon, wish me luck. If i pass, ill schedule the 70-272 for next week, then 70-622 for MCITP upgrade.

Comments

• Options
    XcluzivXcluziv Member Posts: 513 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Good Luck man!!!!icon_thumright.gif
    LINKED | GTECH | NOTHINGBUTSHAREPOINT - BLOG AUTHOR

"TRY NOT. DO. OR DO NOT. THERE IS NO TRY" - Yoda

• Options