Options

Is C++ worth learning?

eltoroeltoro Member Posts: 168
Hi guys, I am neither a programmer nor software engineer but I would love to become one some day. I am not working now because I am a full- time graduate student of Computer Science and enjoy programming very much. So far, I know Java and a few scripting languages. I would love to study C++ this summer but I am not sure if it is worthwhile job-wise.

I am hoping to get a job in software development next year probably in January. Should I continue with C++? if not what do you recommend, what languages are most in demand?

Hey JDMurray, I know you are a software engineer, I need your input please..

Thanks guys!
Masters in Computer Science / Software Engineering (Dec. 2010)
Illinois Institute of Technology

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You might want to look at C# if you're going to be developing Windows/ASP.Net apps. There's a lot of overlap between all the C variations, Java, etc., so it's not like learning any one of them is going to be a waste.
  • Options
    PC509PC509 Member Posts: 804 ■■■■■■□□□□
    If you want to become a developer someday, you can learn whatever you'd like. C++ is fun, and a mid-level difficulty to learn. But, the syntax is the easy part. The hard part is all the problem solving you have to do. You have a problem, write it in pseudocode and then program it in your language of choice. Once you know one, it doesn't take long to learn a new language.

I would say go for it. I find it fun and cool to learn. Once you know the basics, it's easy to move on to VB.Net, scripting languages, or whatever... Personally, I think that it would be very valuable to have those skills on a resume. Programmers can usually solve problems easily because of their logical thought process.

I'm just a beginner, myself, but enjoy every minute of the learning.
  • Options
    bellheadbellhead Member Posts: 120