Options

Setting Certification Goals

NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
Setting Certification Goals:
Hello, everyone
I’m just wondering if anyone has a good idea on how to set certification goals. I only ask this because I have trouble setting them myself. I have been studying for my A+ certification for 6 months, and you think I would be ready to take my exam, but I know I’m not. My goal is to take the exam in September of this year, and then to take the IT technician Exam in October or November. Here is what I’m using to study for the exam:
Exam cram book-Measure up CD -I’m getting 70-75% on the practice CD
Cert blaster-I got this A+ software testing program from my instructor at school, he gave our whole class copies of this testing software. I’m almost at 90% using this software and it has 4 essential tests.
Transcender-I bought A+ testing software to help study for the exam, because the company says that they guarantee you will pass, if you use their products to study for the exam. These exams were the hardest I have ever tried to date!!
Additional things I have been doing..
I took an A+ Essentials college course last semester, which helped me understand the concepts.
I bought the sybex A+ bundle kit---I bought the kit , and I have been reading the book from the beginning to end, and I’m reading chapters that I’m weak on. I also take notes on note cards and look over them periodically. I had some trouble with printers, so I’m studying that area. I have been making note cards, which seems to help me.
I spend an hour or 2 a day on studying, and that does seem to help a little. Anyone have any advice on increasing my score on the practice exams, and on how to set my cert exam goals? I really want to get 90% on at least one practice exam before I attempt the real thing.