Options

Small company migrating to home-based business: telephony suggestions?

blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
There is a small company that I have been working with for a few years now on the side. The owners have decided they want to close their office in town, sell the building, and work from their homes - the principals of the business would work from one home and one other person working from another home. However, they want it to be transparent to the outside world that they are working at home... they're going with that whole "virtual office" concept where you can rent a street address and conference room space, and they're going to move their SBS server to the house with them. They're going to go with a business-class cable service or better and run email from their home, and VPN capability will be set up so the third person can connect to the network with a VPN client.

The part in which I have absolutely no experience is their telephony needs. They are currently leasing their telephone and data from a local service provider and want to keep four of their phone numbers when they move their business. I'm assuming if they are using the same provider that it should be possible... they said they looked into it. Anyway, they are looking for a phone solution with the following capabilities:

Can support the four lines they need
Dial an extension to reach someone
Ability for one of the people to work based out another home, but have full use of the phone system from their desk... can this be done without a persistent point to point connection between the houses?
Optionally, the ability to answer calls when they at the beach and work from there (like a magicjack or something like that)

I'm not necessarily looking for a specific product or brand (though if you know of something, please), just maybe some guidance on the technology that's out there to point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

Blargoe
IT guy since 12/00