Is nothing sacred ?

KaminskyKaminsky Member Posts: 1,235
Several UK PC repair shops (inc large chains) caught stealing personal/financial data/passwords.

Sky News Undercover Laptop Investigation: Computer Shop Suspended By Trade Body | UK News | Sky News
Kam.

Comments

• laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Member Posts: 991
    damn shame if you ask me, I fear this sadly is going to hit the smaller shops rather than the bigger chains.I'm all for supporting the little guy but this is going to scare a lot of people off using them.

Although if you think about the cases where larger chains have reported owners to the police for illegal stuff on the hard-drives then that should serve as a warning that if you take a pc to any shop you should be aware that ANYTHING on your hard drive is going to be looked at.

Lose - lose for customers here and a big WIN for repairers who can gain a good reputation by word of mouth as always.

Sadly in all works of life there are people ready to exploit and steal from others.
    if I say something that can be taken one of two ways and one of them offends, I usually mean the other one :-)
  • bertiebbertieb Member Posts: 1,031 ■■■■■■□□□□
    icon_mad.gif

Scrotes.
    The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never tell if they are genuine - Abraham Lincoln
  • ipconfig.allipconfig.all Banned Posts: 428
    I hope the justice system works lol
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Although if you think about the cases where larger chains have reported owners to the police for illegal stuff on the hard-drives then that should serve as a warning that if you take a pc to any shop you should be aware that ANYTHING on your hard drive is going to be looked at.

We've had to call the police for kiddie p*rn. We weren't even prying. We were just robocopying things to a new drive and noticed the filenames...
  • laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Member Posts: 991
    dynamik wrote: »