Security Certs. vs MS InfoSec. Degree?

inc0mpleteinc0mplete Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello. I am a new comer to these corners and I have finally established my flavor of security to be pursuing. I will be attending my last year in college for IT with a concentration in security. Afterwords, I plan on getting my feet wet with a little Sys. admin + MCSE.

After some time, do you think a masters in InfoSec would be more beneficial or Certs? You, as an employer, would you be more enticed to meet with me if I have a masters from Columbia(my target school) in security or my BS with CEH, MCSE, MCSE:security, OSPC, etc.?

Growing up I realize that time is expensive. I'm sure there is a median where I can perhaps do both, but would it be redundant? Overview of the Columbia courses show relevant if not equal information to Security+; CEH and some OSPC.

Thank you in advance for any reponses.

[EDIT]
Post-Script: I have been doing some mild research; is SANS an acceptable learning area for security? It seems like a university/institute for just security. Have any of you experienced much gain from SANS?
Security+ -> Studying.
CCNA-> Studying - GNS3 and building up equipment slowly for CCNP.:lol:
MCSE 70-290 -> On Hold.

Exploit Bank: 0
InProgress: 1

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I don't think doing both would be redundant at all. I'm sure there'd be some overlap in material here or there, but I wouldn't let that dissuade you from taking both on. Certs vs. degrees threads pop-up semi-often, but the consensus seems to be that both are valuable pieces of the puzzle. You can certainly get by with one or the other (or neither), but you'll go the furthest with both. Oh, and that puzzle is also composed of various other pieces, such as experience, who you know, and luck ;)

Is SANS accredited? I've only looked at it briefly.
  • inc0mpleteinc0mplete Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□