Options

After CCNA exam

suni_143_mesuni_143_me Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,
I am new to this but would like to do CCNA certfication. Could some one give more details regarding this exam and the opportunities once we clear this exam. The opportunities are only on hardware side? If so I guess it is not very much suitable for girls.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Suni

Comments

• Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Wait!! Why do you guess that working with hardware is not suitable for girls?
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • Options
    XenzXenz Member Posts: 140
    You should check a couple job boards such as monster and dice. Check to see what people are looking for in the area. Where I'm at, it's mostly software and not a lot of hardware. Those that do hire for systems admin/network admin want MCSE or CCNP or above. 2 1/2 hours west of me, Chicago has about 10 or so jobs a week that I could probably get. 3 hours south, Indianapolis has 2-8 a week that I could fit into etc..

CCNA did get me a couple calls, but no real work. The whole male vs female thing doesn't really apply. In this market I seem to think whoever has the better resume or whoever can at least sell themselves the best will have preference over others. Male or female it doesn't matter. Employers can be picky in the current market.

By the time you finish the CCNA, the job market will hopefully be a little better. My resume isn't impressive, but I've been able to get an interview or at least some feedback by simply laying out my goals regarding certifications and being flexible.
    Currently working on:
    CCNP, 70-620 Vista 70-290 Server 2003
    Packet Tracer activities and ramblings on my blog:
    http://www.sbntech.info