Options

What IOS to use?

wbosherwbosher Member Posts: 422
I have finally got my hands on, and set up a small CCNA lab at home. However, it seems that there are some commands missing. The routers I have are a 2612, 2620 and a 2620XM. All routers only have 32 MB DRAM, exept the XM that might have 48 I can't remember.

I have got the IP (c2600-i-mz.123-26.bin DRAM 32 / 8 MB ) image but havent installed it yet, currently got an earlier one installed, will hopefully install this tonight in all routers. Will this give me all I need or will I need to upgrade the memory and get IP Plus or Enterprise Basic or something?

I've got plenty of experience opening up and pulling apart PC's but never opened up a router. If I need to upgrade the memory, is there anything I need to know to do this? Will the router recognise the new memory or will I need to configure something?

Sorry, there are quite a few questions here but any help will be appreciated.

Cheers.

Comments

• Options
    jbrad95706jbrad95706 Member Posts: 225
    wbosher wrote: »
    I have finally got my hands on, and set up a small CCNA lab at home. However, it seems that there are some commands missing. The routers I have are a 2612, 2620 and a 2620XM. All routers only have 32 MB DRAM, exept the XM that might have 48 I can't remember.

I have got the IP (c2600-i-mz.123-26.bin DRAM 32 / 8 MB ) image but havent installed it yet, currently got an earlier one installed, will hopefully install this tonight in all routers. Will this give me all I need or will I need to upgrade the memory and get IP Plus or Enterprise Basic or something?

I've got plenty of experience opening up and pulling apart PC's but never opened up a router. If I need to upgrade the memory, is there anything I need to know to do this? Will the router recognise the new memory or will I need to configure something?

Sorry, there are quite a few questions here but any help will be appreciated.

Cheers.