Options

Leave full-time for Temp Job??

ChronusMaximusChronusMaximus Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I was wondering if I could get some input from some people...

My current situation is a Staff Assistant (Office work) full-time, $10 per hour, with health benefits at the University I am attending. I am majoring in Computer Information Systems and will graduate in December.

I have applied to a lot of jobs and most of them seem to hire people with more experience. I applied to a Assistant Network Tech job through another college in my area and got offered an interview. However, even if I got offered the position I am not sure I should take it. The position is a part-time, 32 hours per week @ 12.50 an hour through a staffing company they use.

Another factor is that I might be leaving this city in a year or so anyways

So here is the break down I have come up with for leaving my current job:

Pros:
Gain Network experience

Cons:
Lose health insurance benefits
Continue working in office setting, not IT
Not gain any experience in IT if I stay at my current job

The pay difference equals close to the same because of the increase in pay but I think the two factors that both me the most are losing health insurance and being employed as a temp through a staffing agency.

Any input much appreciated!
WIP: CCNA

Comments

• Options
    aordalaordal Member Posts: 372
    Well experience is huge. If you don't have any you'll find that people with less training and more experience are going to get the jobs you want. If you really want to get into IT you should really consider taking the job.

Also, most staffing companies do give healthcare benefits through them.. it's just not as good as being a full timer. If you really need the healthcare. Personally i'd take it if I were in your situation.
  • Options
    JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
    Any chance the job could go FT?