Options

New IT Consultant Job

NetAdmin2436NetAdmin2436 Member Posts: 1,076
Hey Gang,
Well, after 3 interviews and 2 field trips, I managed to sign on with an IT consultant firm in the Twin Cities and will start Monday. The pay will be just slightly lower in the first 2 months, but then I should be making more the third month and after. Some of you know I have been a Network Administrator for a small company for almost 6 years now. I am bored to tears with my current job and need more of a challenge, hence my reason for switching jobs. As most of you know that working for a small company you wear a lot of hats, and I'd like to get rid of some of them hats and concentrate solely on IT stuff.

It looks like I will still be working at my current job a couple hours a day for the next couple months as a consultant, to ease the transition of me not wearing them other hats for them. After that, I will continue to manage their network, but just on a 'as needed' basis. I will slowly take over some of his other accounts. I think he's going to start me off with 3-4 accounts and go from there.

I got drilled in not having live production experience with Cisco, VMWare and programming. I was just upfront and honest and told him I didn't have production experience, but had played with it in labs, or told him how I could find the answers (call vendor, look online, ect...) He basically said I don't have the senior level experience he was looking for, but wanted me to come in for a second interview anyways since I had a "good aptitude" and was "resourceful". At one point he asked me if I needed directions, I said "No, I got them from your website, I'll see you there!". He seamed to like them sort of intangibles. I guess he liked the other non technical things like how I dressed, appearance, punctuality and all that jazz.

That's just how I roll icon_wink.gif
WIP: CCENT/CCNA (.....probably)

Comments

• Options
    AldurAldur Member Posts: 1,460
    congrats man!