Coming up for air...

I just finished studying the MS Press kit for 70-640 (AD) and I started 642 today (Networking). The amount to study for the 649 test is a LOT! My brain's fried today, so I'm doing some ranting...

-The new Windows Server Backup tool is idiotic and useless. So many odd restrictions. You can do a manual backup to a file share, but not a scheduled one. It won't backup to tape. Blah blah blah. I never used the previous Windows backup tools, and so I guess that'll continue. Veritas has been good to me.

-I work for a small company with 3 sites, 2 domains, <100 users. We don't use Terminal Services, rarely use certificates, don't us AD FS, AD RMS, and I seldom use the server command line tools. Guess what my weak areas are? Hah. Technically, I don't even fit the target audience for an MCITP:EA. I never fit the audience for an MCSE either, but that never stopped me. So much to learn.

-The 646 book I studied spent a lot of time on Site-local IPv6 addresses (fec0). The 640 book says they're being "depreciated". Wow, that was quick!

-I've never been particularly good at exams. I've always passed 'em, but usually 700s-low 800s. I'm not looking forward to 70-649. I did 200 questions on the Measure Up test for the 70-640 AD, and got 150 correct (750), so I guess I did OK. Still have a long way to go.

OK, break over, I'm diving back in...
MCTS
MCITP: SA & EA
MCSE: NT, 2000, 2003
MCSA: 2000, 2003

Comments

• SRTMCSESRTMCSE Member Posts: 249
    You "can" do a scheduled backup to a file share, but only by using wbadmin and the required arguments in a scheduled task. I didn't see any questions about that specifically on either 70-649 or 646, but it was mentioned in the MS Press kit for 70-646.

But yes, the new backup tool is idiotic for anything beyond a tiny shop, thank God it's a feature and never installed unless you use it. I can see how a small business w/ 1-3 servers could take advantage of it.
  • dfosbennerdfosbenner Member Posts: 106