Options

Ways to get experience?

jjbrogjjbrog Member Posts: 149
Ok for starters, I am in a local community college studying network administration.

The focus seems to be on cisco(training for ccna of course) windows server 2008 and linux.

Unfortunately my job has nothing to do with IT, I work in manufacturing. And I can't just up and quit to take a low pay(if any pay at all) internship as I live on my own and I'm 30 so moving back in with my dad isn't a option(we get along and I could in a case where I'd be in a bad spot and am laid off) Aside from that I also am being reimbursed 100% on my tuition so all I'd have to pay for are the extra study materials I've have(videos, extra books, my real lab etc) and the certs.

I was wondering if anyone has any luck finding some volunteer work for maybe a few hours during the week working in some kind of IT environment? Or possibly going into some small business yourself maybe installing home networks for the computer/networking illiterate? Obviously being a student and working full time I don't have time to take on any major responsibilities but any suggestions?
Started a forum for networking students, its new and needs people!
http://netadminstudents.zxq.net/phpBB3/
HTC students encouraged to join :)

Comments

• Options
    KasorKasor Member Posts: 933 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Try local super computer store like: bestbuy,.. or you can open up your own little workshop (run from your house) to help out the local community or family members.

Get anything that you can from school or networking...
    Kill All Suffer T "o" ReBorn
  • Options
    msteinhilbermsteinhilber Member Posts: 1,480 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Doing some business on the side out of your house is a good way for some extra cash and to get more comfortable with networking, but in my opinion it isn't really going to go a very long ways in helping you land a job working in IT.