Options

Cisco and Juniper

2»

Comments

• Options
    Mark KnutsonMark Knutson Member Posts: 73 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Kaminsky wrote: »
    I heard that the guys that wrote IOS left Cisco and formed Juniper and wrote JUNOS. Anyone know if this is true ?

Could be one of those fables like the guy who wrote Novell NDS was poached by Microsoft to write Active Directory. Now that I do believe as I was a Novell Admin at the time and they AD seemed a blatent rip off of NDS.

Its not that hard to write sofware like IOS or AD, so they could hire the programmers, or get some programmers to write a new one. The IOS user interface is so cumbersome and unintuitive, I wouldn't be in a big hurry to make a close copy of it.

Yeah, I remember when novell was The Thing. How the mighty have fallen when they refuse to recognize that their margins are going to fall due to competition.
  • Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    Its not that hard to write sofware like IOS or AD, so they could hire the programmers, or get some programmers to write a new one. The IOS user interface is so cumbersome and unintuitive, I wouldn't be in a big hurry to make a close copy of it.

Well, as I mentioned, the guys at Force10 disagree with you (and yes, they do have former Cisco engineers working for them). Just because you may not like the IOS interface doesn't change the fact that there are thousands upon thousands of people who are trained to use it. That's no small consideration.
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    Its not that hard to write sofware like IOS or AD, so they could hire the programmers, or get some programmers to write a new one.
    I don't see how writing a replacement for IOS could be classed as "not that hard". You need to implement a vast variety of protocols and interfaces as well as a routing system which is robust and scaleable enough to handle significant amounts of traffic. Just implementing a basic TCP/IP stack isn't a trivial task.