Options

Sr College Student, IT Major, No Experience, Help!

NC_336ITNC_336IT Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Let me start by saying wow @ this website/forum...I don't even know how I came across this place but it seems like heaven, I've been considering certifications for a couple of months now and to find this site seems like a blessing.

About Me:
Senior Information Technology Student
GPA: 2.91
About 80% Sure I want to pursue a career in networking

Due to my GPA and other outside circumstances I was unable to obtain an internship(most require a 3.0). I could never be too active in attending department meeting and career seminars due to working part-time to provide for myself and also during college I slowly lost two immediate family members that I've known since birth.

At my university there are no more opportunities at the campus help desk, I was sure last year I could get this position but unfortunately due to budget cuts this position no longer exists.

There is no way for me to possibly gain 'experience' anymore and I need some advice. I was wondering if obtaining certifications would possibly gear me towards landing a position in the IT field.

I contacted NEW HORIZONS which is a learning center that offers training and its a little expensive IMO, I'm only a regular 21 year old college student, money doesnt grow on treesicon_lol.gif

They offer:
A+ Essentials/IT Technician(220-602) and Network+ Course Package for $3,999

A+ Essentials/IT Technician(220-602), Network+, CCENT 640-822, CCNA 640-816 for $4,999

They offer other programs but currently those are the two I am considering due to the prices of the programs.

Are these certifications worth it? How for could my Bachelor degree in IT take me paired with a couple of certifications??

Sorry for a partially long read. Thanks in advanceicon_mrgreen.gif

Comments

• Options
    Jason0352Jason0352 Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□