Options

Should I move from a coporate enviroment to a school enviroment

thomas130thomas130 Member Posts: 184
Hi guys at the moment I work on the helpdesk for a water company we have around 6 different domains and support around 1500 users on many different sites. At the moment I am studying for my degree with a diploma, ccna and mcse which I will complete within the next 2 years. I have gained my HNC earlier this year.

My job duties at the moment involve first line support where I do the following things, fault finding and resolving issues, user creation, security access on groups and creating them, Mail setup on exchange and pop3 and allow this to sync to their phones plus other thing like printers etc. My main big job role at the moment is building machines where I have basically created myself ghost images so I can save a load of time deploying machines usually I just deploy the machines to the directors and the less important ones I get other people to do.

My main problem is that I know within this company I will never progress it's kind of the environment where the people who have been there for 10 -15 years will never leave and this means I will never moved up. So hopefully early next year when I have completed my MCSE and CCNA and with my HNC I’m thinking about trying to get a job in a school. The reason for this is because I will want to put my MCSE and CISCO Skills to good use. While the helpdesk is alright I want to do more technical things however I will never get the chance.

So from your opinion should I stay in a corporate environment or should I move to a school so I can get involve in everything to get a more rounded experience. Basically when I have completed my degree I want to have a decent job with decent pay however I know a degree and certs are not enough and you need experience with it. However would I look better to a future employer to stay in corporate environment or with more experience in more things working in a school.

Comments