Relocation for a job -- How to go about it?

JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
So this thread got me thinking about a subject that has always been a big debate among my friends, relocation.

One of my friends is putting pressure on me to relocate to a bigger city so I can get more experience/pay, because I have my Masters. I have applied for positions with Raytheon, General Dynamic and others and never heard anything back. I mark this up because I am not a local person to where the jobs are.

Now I had a friend who lived here in Omaha who is an accountant. For years he applied for jobs in Las Vegas because he loves the city. He never heard anything back for jobs, until he physically moved to that city.

He stated that no company is going to relocate a person, unless they are a high value employee or that person states they will relocate at their own cost.

What is everyone's experience with this? What is the best way to go about applying for job that is not located in your home town?

thanks
***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
-unknown

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    JockVSJock wrote: »
    He stated that no company is going to relocate a person, unless they are a high value employee or that person states they will relocate at their own cost.

I'd say that's true. Do you not consider yourself to be "high value" with your MBA? What type of position are you looking for? What cities are you looking in for jobs? I assume you're in a small town in Omaha. Would you not be willing to eat the costs if you were given a good opportunity?
    JockVSJock wrote: »
    What is everyone's experience with this? What is the best way to go about applying for job that is not located in your home town?