Vista Issue

b.cherner@gmail.comb.cherner@gmail.com Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am brand new to the site, so not even sure if I am posting this in the right spot. My Vista Home Premium just started shutting down all of the sudden. It goes through start up, allows me to log with my password, then the screen blinks at me and the computer starts shutting down. Then it restarts on its own and gets me back to the password screen. Once I enter the password, the process repeats itself. I am brand new to Vista and not sure what to do at all. Please help. Thank you.

Comments

• RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    There are a number of issues that could cause this. Can you get into safe mode?

The first thing you should check is the hardware.
    You can download this memory test and burn the ISO to a CD: Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool
    You can also download Drive Fitness Test test the hard drive: Support - Downloads and Utilities

If you can get into Safe Mode and your hardware checks out, it is probably malware.
  • skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
    There are a number of issues that could cause this. Can you get into safe mode?

The first thing you should check is the hardware.
    You can download this memory test and burn the ISO to a CD: Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool
    You can also download Drive Fitness Test test the hard drive: Support - Downloads and Utilities

If you can get into Safe Mode and your hardware checks out, it is probably malware.