Options

Some advice needed

I am about a year from graduating and achieving my Bachelors degree in Networking and Communication management. I'm studying for my CCNA (take it in November). I plan to move onto the CCNP once I'm passed there. I've inquired about a Masters degree program in Networking and Communication Management as well. But, I'm trying to decide if I should do it. I would only need probably about 12 classes to get the degree. Eventually one day, I'm sure I'll try for the IE. Would it be worth going for the extra education?

Comments

• Options
    tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Can you work on your Masters while working full time? You did not mention your work experience so I was assuming you were going to school full time and not working in IT.

If you are not currently working in IT I would get a job in IT with just your bachelors and CCNA. Really most places won't give you CCNA level access with no skills so Microsoft certs are probably a better option.

At my recent interview I met with the entire team and from comments made I realized most did not have a bachelors and only the Director had his CISSP and Masters degree. It could be viewed as a threat if you have more education than your peers when trying to land that first job.
  • Options
    AldurAldur Member Posts: 1,460
    tpatt has a good point. If you don't have any IT experience or a job in IT right now it would probably be more beneficial to get some experience before going on for the masters degree. Plus a lot of places have some sort of tuition reimbursement so you could get your masters degree paid for.

From my experience as long as you have a Bachelors degree, certifications, and experience your set. More education is never a bad thing but it may not help all that much if you don't have any work experience to back it up.
    "Bribe is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The X makes it sound cool."

-Bender
  • Options