CISA - Certified Information Systems Auditor

pipemajorpipemajor Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'd like to become one. I have 30+ years IT experience dating all the way back to legacy mainframe environments, have BBA/MBA degrees from solid brick 'n mortar institutions but can't get my foot in the door.

The CISA requires an exam AND five years proven IT Audit experience. Seems like a Catch 22 since I can't get any experience as an IT Auditor without first having the CISA. I was even an IT manager for a company who did various audit work once.

And yes, I'm currently unemployed. icon_cry.gif

Comments

• Paul BozPaul Boz Member Posts: 2,620 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The CISA is a tough cert to get because of the experience which you're mentioning. I work with three CISAs and combined they have 20-30 years of IT audit experience. I do IT audits but I've only been here for a year. For me to be able to get a CISA (even though I actually DO audits) I'd have to be here another four years or find another job over the next four that lets me continue to do audits.

I talked to one of our CISAs and he said that you don't necessarily need 5 years of experience in auditing - if you have experience in other domains it may count for the experience. check their experience requirements again.

ALSO, you can take the CISA exam without getting the actual cert. This will allow you to tell employers that you have passed the CISA, you just do not meet the experience requirements. However, with your time in the field of IT you probably meet the experience requirements anyway.
    CCNP | CCIP | CCDP | CCNA, CCDA
    CCNA Security | GSEC |GCFW | GCIH | GCIA
    pbosworth@gmail.com
    http://twitter.com/paul_bosworth
    Blog: http://www.infosiege.net/
  • tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□