Options

Balancing Work & College

veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
Hello everyone,

I have been in the process of starting to talk to the University of South Carolina: Upstate about taking taking classes either next Spring or Fall. The problem is that I work full time as a Desktop Support technician from 8-5. This leaves me with only my evenings open for classes at this point. The department head of the Computer Science department told me some of the classes are taught at night, but by no means all. I know that I want to finish a degree through USC Upstate. Is there anyone out there who has had the same problem? How would you deal with this? Any suggestions?

icon_confused.gif:

Comments

• Options
    Anyone got advice ? :)
  • Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Anyone got advice ? :)

Is it possible to take any online classes?
  • Options
    knwminus wrote: »
    Is it possible to take any online classes?

I'm not sure yet. Thanks for the reminder to check that. I kinda got the wind kicked out of me when he told me that that may no longer be offering classes at a satellite school here in Greenville. The satellite was suppose to offer all the courses for the degree in the evening.
  • Options
    /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    You essentially have no choice. Unless you happen to be the only person who takes the course, they are most likely not going to change the time to suit you.

You're only real option is to work out a deal with your employer for those day classes you have to take. Hopefully they'll see it as a benefit to them and see that you're ambitious, then allow you to come to work early, work late, work extra hours another day, or just simply let you take off long enough to go to class.