Options

CCNA Boot Camp

MartinCoxxMartinCoxx Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys

My company are going to pay for me to attend an intense classroom based training program. The company I'm choosen to train with is Firebrand Training, has anyone ever heard of these? Anyone trained with them? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

I'm not totally relying on the boot camp to gain knowledge (I'm studying for the knowledge, not the cert alone), I'm trying to study for 3 - 4 hours per day in the meantime, leading up to the course. I really wouldn't be happy training just to pass an exam. I want to be someone who knows their **** lol, not a wannabe.

The course I'm going on seems pretty intense, 14 hour days, 6 days straight, but I suppose if it's interesting stuff, the time will fly by!

Wish me luck!

Martin

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    MartinCoxx wrote: »
    My company are going to pay
    That's what we want to hear when people go these bootcamps icon_lol.gif
    I'm not totally relying on the boot camp to gain knowledge (I'm studying for the knowledge, not the cert alone), I'm trying to study for 3 - 4 hours per day in the meantime, leading up to the course.
    Definitely a good plan. Most good boot camps will suggest a study plan before attending since they know they will be throwing lots of material at the students.

The best way to do it is to study on your own to learn the material (and exam topics) -- and use the bootcamp as a review before you take the exam :D

If you have access to hardware (or a simulator) you're going to want to do more than just read before you get to the bootcamp. While you'll probably have a pod of equipment at the bootcamp, you don't want to be touching the hardware or be seeing a real command line for the first time when you get there.

These are the books I'd usually recommend for self-study:
    Odom Certification Library AND Todd's Sybex book (6th Edition)