Options

Yet another question about 2003 vs 2008 Microsoft certs

trmivtrmiv Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Sorry if this question comes up a lot, mine may be a little different. Just looking for some direction. I've been a desktop support tech for the past 7 years, and before that I did software support for 3 years. I have a BS in management information systems. I'm trying to break into the server side of things, and recently almost had a new job at my company as an entry level systems administrator, but they went with someone (who was also a desktop support tech) older with a little more experience. It was apparently close, but the certs and a bit more experience won out in the end. I really don't want that to happen again if a similar opportunity comes up within my company. I'd also like to be prepared for possible opportunities elsewhere once the job market picks up.

There are a few certs I want, but I figured a good place to start would be the Microsoft server certs, and then go from there with more specialized ones. I know they are in the process of upgrading some of our servers here to 2008, and I know some of the people in the server group are studying to take the MCITP on 2008, so that would seem the best one to go for. But I know a lot of other companies are still on 2003 and will be for quite awhile. Although I feel my best chance to get the position I want is internal, I don't want to limit myself by getting a 2008 cert when a lot of companies outside of my own are still looking for 2003. I haven't started study for either one yet, so I'm just looking for a direction to go. I'm ready to pull out the credit card today and buy a few books to get started on this journey. BTW I'm looking at getting the MCSA or the MCITP:SA.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□