Caught between 2 jobs

DanhDanh Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
Ok, I'm currently a network technician for the government. I make $35k a year and my position is a career ladder (meaning this time next year I get a mandatory upgrade to $42k). However, the career ladder ends at $42k. And I'll be stuck at $35k a year another year before the upgrade.

A huge IT company offered me a position today doing contract work for a client of theirs. It pays roughly $44k a year , however it's a contract job. So it ends after 9 months (also no benefits in that time). I DO have the possibility to be hired full time afterwards however. The advantage here is that I would get my "foot in the door" with this huge IT company. If, at the end of the contract, they like me. They can hire me as their own employee. They offer full benefits and a lot of money to their regular employees.

The advantage my government job has, is of course job security. I dont want to be a lifer working for the government though. The "big" IT company is state of the art. But like I said, it's a contract type thing. It also worries me that a technical recruiter (from the big IT company) is the only contact I had with that company. She didnt even really screen me. Just saw my resume and set up an interview with the client.

I need to make a decision by wednesday.
Opinions?

Comments

• TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Go to the interview and call in sick for work on Wednesday. See what they have to offer and hear it from the people giving the interview. Do not commit until you know what you want to do, but I would definitely go to the interview.

my 2 cents :)
  • viper75viper75 Member Posts: 726 ■■■■□□□□□□