Options

New member asking some advice please!

JayHJayH Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone!

I was just reading some here on this site and it looks pretty reliable and respected. So i thought i would ask if i could get some advice on what I should do about my future concerning my career.

I am currently not working in the IT field. Due to personal issues i have needed to work for family in a cabinet shop, due to my son being sick and me needing time off work frequently with little to no notice... Unfortunately, this is no longer an issue however.

I graduated from ITT Tech about 8 years ago from their networking program. It is a 2 year associate degree. Also, i did work for a few computer companies around the same time doing tech support for computers that we built. Nothing network related.

I now want to pursue my IT career and I'm not sure where i should start. Do i start with getting certifications? Or do I start somewhere else?

I am mainly interested in doing server/client type work, maybe security. So if someone could please advise me on where to start, and maybe some good self-study resources, it would be very appreciated.

Thank you!

Jason

Comments

• Options
    Paul BozPaul Boz Member Posts: 2,620 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Certifications will refresh your associates degree and increase your marketability. You said that your associates is in networking so why do you want to pursue server/client over networking? If you want to pursue client/server I would look into the Microsoft series of certifications, as they hold good market value. If you go for networking get a CCNA and go from there.
    CCNP | CCIP | CCDP | CCNA, CCDA
    CCNA Security | GSEC |GCFW | GCIH | GCIA
    pbosworth@gmail.com
    http://twitter.com/paul_bosworth
    Blog: http://www.infosiege.net/
  • Options
    murdatapesmurdatapes Member Posts: 232 ■■■□□□□□□□
    JayH wrote: »
    Hello everyone!

I was just reading some here on this site and it looks pretty reliable and respected.