Options

Advice from those who passed 70-536

ssmith147ssmith147 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for the 70-536. I am studying with the MS Press book by Tony Northrup (of course I can't seem to find anything else).

I've been using VB 2008 for about 18 months now and I'm very comfortable with it, and as I'm studying the material in the text I'm finding that the material is both familiar and easy to pick up. For the most part I have experience in everything I'm reading and where I haven't used a particular class or method it's not hard to learn.

My question is this: Of those who passed, did you use this book for the test? If not, what did you use? In either case, can you recommend some pointers on material that I should really know? Or, is there anything outside of the regular study materials I should be looking at.

Thanks for whatever advice you can offer.

Comments

• Options
    pavel486pavel486 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Because nobody reply I will try.
    Do not rely on one book - it's not sufficient. Get some practice test from MeasureUp and others and make sure you can pass this tests with 90% or better. The previous two books for 70-536 from MS press is not as good as the second edition BUT have some material which is missing from the new one (also first edition have more tests on CD) You can get older books from eBay cheap.
    Search this forum - there are a lot of links to free stuff.
    Good luck!
  • Options
    DeepCodeDeepCode Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    My question is this: Of those who passed, did you use this book for the test?

No - I did not.

If not, what did you use? In either case, can you recommend some pointers on material that I should really know? Or, is there anything outside of the regular study materials I should be looking at.

I used the test kit, I used the labs in the test kit, I used (extensively) the MSDN docs, and I used a practice exam from Transcender.