ACL Help

cschaafcschaaf Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all

I took my ICND1 class two weeks ago and passed on my first attempt!

I was not very confident going in, but once I got started, I was surprised how easy it seemed.

I went in expecting a low score, as I was taking it, I expected a high score. I ended up somewhere in the middle with a 874 lol

Anyway, I am reading through the ICND2 info and am confused on where and why to apply ACLs.

I get the concept of them. I understand the syntax of building the list. I understand that the In and Out are from the routers perspective. And I get that Extended should be put near the source and Basic should be put near the destination.

Where I get lost is why they are in or out.

Does anyone have any tips of know of a good place to read up on them?

For the ICND1, I studied:
Cisco Networking Academy texts
CBTNuggets videos
and Lammle

I've tried all of them for the In and Out, but seem to get more confused.

Thanks!

Comments

• nevolvednevolved Member Posts: 131
    Using them as In or Out is purely a design/engineering choice, don't get too hung up on it until you see some examples. Most of the ACLs I see used on interfaces are all In, (In from the Internet, In from a VLAN, etc). They are functionally identical, it just applies to the traffic at a different time.

For instance if you wanted to control traffic going between VLANs you might filter some traffic out as it exits that VLAN (In the interface). Or you could control what traffic goes out of an interface into the VLAN.
  • eleguaelegua Member Posts: 282
    Hi,

Check this post, i explained there what you are asking.

http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/29082-access-lists-out-dilemma.html

Hope this help. icon_thumright.gif
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□