Just getting into Webste design!!!! some questions...

94jedi94jedi Member Posts: 177
Ok, so first off, I'm a Network Admin by trade but I've always wanted to pick up some knowledge in the graphic/design realm. I used to draw a lot when I was a kid and even briefly majored in Architectural design but it's been at least 10 years since I've drawn anything, by hand or computer. Recently, I've gotten into the photography hobby which of course led to me to photoshop. Based on that, I have this desire to get more into graphic design, and later on, web design. Fast forward to today - a friend of mine owns a small business and want me to do a simple website for him by March-ish. I told him that I'm below novice but will to take on the project and he is willing to pay for my time. Obviously, i can't charge what even a beginner would charge so it will likely not be a money making job. This is simply to get my feet wet. So what I'm looking for is a bit of a crash course in website design. I need to learn, and fast. Also, I need to figure out how to charge...since I'm still a newb, I'll most likely just make it a small flat fee.

Do you guys know of a website or anything other than aimless "googling" I can do to quickly learn about web-design? I know this sounds like a very broad request so forgive me for that.

Any help or general direction would be a great help.
HAIL TO THE REDSKINS!!!

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Wow, that's a pretty tall order. You're going to want to do the layout in Photoshop and then slice it up.

Something like this maybe: Design a Website In Photoshop [Software Tutorials]

This is a great HTML/CSS/JS/etc. resource: W3Schools Online Web Tutorials
  • 94jedi94jedi Member Posts: 177
    dynamik wrote: »
    Wow, that's a pretty tall order. You're going to want to do the layout in Photoshop and then slice it up.

Something like this maybe: Design a Website In Photoshop [Software Tutorials]