Options

What's your opinion about this approach?

AlexMRAlexMR Member Posts: 275
I am trying to change careers. My first step into that was studying and finally getting the CCNA. A few months later (a year actually!) I got the CCNA Voice and Im now studying for the CCNP.

I have submitted my resume to severl places (last week) and havent been called yet, but I think I will eventually. I had a conversation with the Senior DBA of the second TELCO of the country, and he suggested that for my short term goal (start working ASAP), a different approach to training and studuying was necessary. He told me that getting "certification prepared" takes way more time than simply being prepared to work with the tecnologies and have some exposure to it...I totally agree with him, the thing here is that one really needs to master a lot of topics in a manner that is not precisely necessary in the real world. Ok. That mmight have sounded not the way I meant it...

Another way to say it: The theory we need to know and master in order to get certified is, most of the time, way more than what it is required for most jobs. I think that one came out a lot better.