Options

70-290 help - browsing to domain from client

ecummingsecummings Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi - I'm a bit of a novice to server 2003 and was looking for a bit of help. I've got a Windows 2003 server configured and an XP client machine which has joined the domain. I'm trying to add a domain account to the local administrators group on the local machine. I've opened the Administrator group and selected Add - the location is set to the local machine. I've hit Locations to browse to the domain but there is no other option to select from - just the local machine. The client machine has joined the domain and can access shared resources. Why can I not browse to the domain?

Any help gratefully received.

thanks

Comments

• Options
    garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    1. Make sure your a member of the domain and logged in.
    2. Add new user - type in the username & domain
    3. Or you can choose browse - Advanced & FIND. Find will pull everyone in every domain, choose your user and NEXT.
  • Options
    lazyartlazyart Member Posts: 483
    when adding the user, instead of browsing the domain, type in

DOMAIN\username

If the domain controller cannot be contacted then your error lies elsewhere (is the computer physically connected to the domain... perhaps this is a connectivity issue...)
    I'm not a complete idiot... some parts are missing.
  • Options
    I've tried typing in domain\username but this doesn't work either. The issue doesn't appear to be connectivity as I can ping the server from the client, access shared network resources, etc but can't change the location from the local machine to the domain. Any other suggestions?
    thanks
  • Options
    lazyartlazyart Member Posts: 483
    Well, let's roll back a bit.. since you said you joined the machine to the domain, how did you do this? I only ask because you say you are a novice... joining to the domain is more than just the physical connection.