Options

Why is WAN my weakness?

phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□
I've been studying icnd2 for about 9 months and I feel clueless to real-world L2 WAN scenarios. So I put together a list of questions that hopefully will clear things up for me. Somewhere along my icnd1 and icnd2 studies, I either missed this information or wasnt paying attention...

1. Whats the main differences between using a serial interace vs an ethernet interface for wan connectivity?

2. When can you and can you not use either a serial or ethernet interface?

3. Which type of interface is best used for: leased line internet connections, dedicated point-to-point, frame relay, mpls?

I know these are basic questions which is why I want to have a firm understanding of them not only for the exam but also for the job.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    ilcram19-2ilcram19-2 Banned Posts: 436
    phoeneous wrote: »
    I've been studying icnd2 for about 9 months and I feel clueless to real-world L2 WAN scenarios. So I put together a list of questions that hopefully will clear things up for me. Somewhere along my icnd1 and icnd2 studies, I either missed this information or wasnt paying attention...

1. Whats the main differences between using a serial interace vs an ethernet interface for wan connectivity?
    2. When can you and can you not use either a serial or ethernet interface?

3. Which type of interface is best used for: leased line internet connections, dedicated point-to-point, frame relay, mpls?

I know these are basic questions which is why I want to have a firm understanding of them not only for the exam but also for the job.

Thanks

1.- mainly speed and avaliability
    2.- sometimes the only high speeds you can only buy a T1 (serial) or not even that DSL and or clable are also avaliable which if they provide a cable modem or dsl modem you should be able to use and ethernet port on your router.