Options

Public/Private Keys question

dorawedorawe Member Posts: 106
Question for the gurus......
When using Asymmetric encryption to send a message to someone, do you always use your Private key to encrypt, or do you sometimes use the public key of the recipient? I'm studying for the exam ( plan on taking it next week) and this is a bit confusing.....

Comments

• Options
    apena7apena7 Member Posts: 351
    Simple scenario: everyone has a public key and a private key. If I want to encrypt something and send it to you, I would encrypt it using your public key. In order for you to decrypt it, you would use your private key.
    Usus magister est optimus
  • Options
    rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    apena7 wrote: »
    Simple scenario: everyone has a public key and a private key. If I want to encrypt something and send it to you, I would encrypt it using your public key. In order for you to decrypt it, you would use your private key.

Isn't that backwards? Don't you encrypt it with the private key and the recipient decrypts it with the public key?
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you're sending confidential information to someone, you would use their public key since the only thing that could decrypt it would be their private key. If you used your private key, anyone who had your public key could decrypt it, which is not what you want if you're trying to maintain confidentiality.

However, that is a typical scenario for signing. You might care only about maintaining the integrity of information, and you would then sign it with your private key, so anyone with your public key could verify the integrity with your public key.

You can also simultaneously encrypt with the other party's public key and sign with your private key.
  • Options