Options

iSCSI vs FCoE

NightShade03NightShade03 Member Posts: 1,383 ■■■■■■■□□□
Has anyone had experience with either of these? I'm working with some vendors to design and implement a new rack setup with new SANS and both vendors seem torn for which direction they want to go in. I can't seem to find a clearly defined difference online aside from the actual way they are implemented.

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I have some experience with iSCSI. I suppose what it really comes down to is what will the SAN be used for? I have very little knowledge of FC in general. HAve you looked at Using SANS and NAS? Might be helpful.

Amazon.com: Using SANs and NAS (9780596001537): W. Curtis Preston: Books
  • Options
    NightShade03NightShade03 Member Posts: 1,383 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I'll check out the book thanks.

Basically we have two sites one in NY and one in GA. Each site has a blade center with 4 blades and a VMware infrastructure built on top of it with SAP running. These blade centers will need to tie into SANS which are local to each location. Vendor A wants to use iSCSI and Vendor B wants FCoE
  • Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
  • Options
    HeroPsychoHeroPsycho Inactive Imported Users Posts: 1,940
    My understanding is FCoE has less overhead, but iSCSI within itself has better security, etc.

But I'll be honest, I don't know enough about the subject to have an informed opinion.
    Good luck to all!
  • Options
    ClaymooreClaymoore Member Posts: 1,637
    I have some experience with iSCSI. I suppose what it really comes down to is what will the SAN be used for? I have very little knowledge of FC in general. HAve you looked at Using SANS and NAS? Might be helpful.

Amazon.com: Using SANs and NAS (9780596001537): W. Curtis Preston: Books