Options

Question about getting jobs requiring security clearances

Dr_AtomicDr_Atomic Member Posts: 184
Ok, I have a problem. I have a CCNA and I want to pursue a more professional cert of some kind, but a long time ago - when I was young and stupid - I was discharged from the military with an Other Than Honorable discharge for misconduct (I smoked a joint). Believe it or not, I've never done it before or since. This was 15 years ago.

Since then I've married, started a family, and changed career fields, obtaining an IT job in a NOC. I've had the chance recently to move up into better paying jobs elsewhere, but they've required security clearances, and at least one well-paying job offer was rescinded solely because of my OTH discharge, despite the fact that I have no criminal record, great credit, a stable family, and the discharge was well over a decade ago.

I'd like to get into security, but this field above all others (such as CCSP, CISSP, SCCP, etc) is going to require extensive background checks. I was wondering if other areas of IT would be less stringent on this kind of checking? I know they all have background checks, but some are more in-depth than others. I'm not so crazy about the CCNP, but others are interesting. I'd also like to get into something that doesn't require a fortune to build a home lab with (like voice).

I thought this forum would be the best to find people who would have the knowledge to assist me.

Any input would be welcome.

Comments

• Options
    BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□
    You might find this interesting and possibly pursuing

Upgrading Your Military Discharge
  • Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271