Script to automate Cisco device configuration?

nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
Not regarding the NP but i thought this would be the best place to put this.

Im looking for a script of some kind which lets you automate cisco switch configuration without having knowledge with the IOS CLI. Im possibly thinking maybe theres a perl script which can refer to a csv file, where the user enters things such as vlan details, management IP, username and passwords, which port is assigned to a vlan etc. They can then run the script which will generate the output and write it to the switch. Or even just generate a config so the user can copy it to the switch.

Is this possible? i have no knowledge of scripting/programming but i am wondering if there is already one out there.
Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
WIP: Msc advanced networking

Comments

• ilcram19-2ilcram19-2 Banned Posts: 436
    thats taken the fun away lol, you can try to use the cisco SDM im not sure if they have it for switches i never used it though it sucks lol, or create a template test files sometimes that works well
  • BosefusBosefus Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
    They way I configure en mass is make a template in notepad.

I then change the details that are device specific for each device (such as IPs) and then paste the config into the router.

For instance

config t
    int fa0/0
    ip add 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.0
    no shut

I dont see why a program could not be created to do this. As you said the user would be prompted for values to enter (such as ip addresses) then the program could generate a text file which the user would paste into the router. The text file would have to include the needed commands as well.
    Working on CCNP, passed BSCI, Currently working on ONT.
  • kristianbrownkristianbrown Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□