Options

Gpo...

Hi guys,

Apologies if this question has an obvious answer but I’m still quite new to software rights / distribution via group policy.

The problem I have is this – within the company that I work for, as with most companies, our standard users have their local pc admin rights locked down. We want to give users the ability to apply updates to certain applications despite only having standard user accounts. Therefore allow certain applications to run with administrative rights. I’ve been looking at software that allows us to do this such as Avecto – Privilege Guard.

Is there a way of doing this through group policy without giving users temp admins?

Sorry if this question has a very obvious answer... I’m just at the start of my 70-640 and I’m not really “in the know” where the limitations of GPO are concerned.

Thanks if you have taken time to read this post and many thanks to those that take the time to respond.

Cheers.
Matt of England

Comments

• Options
    BADfish10BADfish10 Member Posts: 88 ■■□□□□□□□□
    mattipler wrote: »
    Hi guys,

Apologies if this question has an obvious answer but I’m still quite new to software rights / distribution via group policy.

The problem I have is this – within the company that I work for, as with most companies, our standard users have their local pc admin rights locked down. We want to give users the ability to apply updates to certain applications despite only having standard user accounts. Therefore allow certain applications to run with administrative rights. I’ve been looking at software that allows us to do this such as Avecto – Privilege Guard.

Is there a way of doing this through group policy without giving users temp admins?

Sorry if this question has a very obvious answer... I’m just at the start of my 70-640 and I’m not really “in the know” where the limitations of GPO are concerned.

Thanks if you have taken time to read this post and many thanks to those that take the time to respond.