How Does Setting Up A Network of Computers Using Virtual Machines Work?

JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
Ok so Im not new to VM's as I run XP, 7 and Ubuntu on a virtual machine on my MacBook however I am new to setting up a network/domain for lab purposes.

As stated in the other thread below about the 70-290 exam virtual lab setup, Im looking to setup something like this:

- Win2003 Enterprise Server (DC)
- Win2003 Enterprise Server (BDC)
- Client #1 (XP)
- Client #2 (XP)

and later some kind of file server, web server or other.

Can someone explain how that works? How do they all see each other? Do you you fire up all 4 virtual machines, starting with the DC presumably, then the clients. Can you login to the domain using the clients just by having all 4 running? How about the setting up of TCP/IP settings so that they are on the same network? I dont know how all of this works using VMs so it would be great if someone can explain.

I have a stack of 8 Compag desktops I had accumulated so I can set up my network for all the Microsoft exams but I am sitting on a stack of cash and Id rather sell them off and pocket the $$$ and use a virtual environment as it would save space and time. A lot of people in the MCSE forum section had asked why I was using real boxes and why not just go virtual so now I am thinking about it more.
Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
Next Up:​ OSCP
Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    There are various networking options. Most packages offer something along the lines of bridged, NAT, host-only, and some allow you to also create virtual networks where only a group of VMs can communicate with each other. It's quite easy and flexible.