Configure ISA2004 as edge device

KhattabKhattab Member Posts: 97 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I'm trying to set up a relatively simple network, but i'm confused because i'm dealing with something i've never done before and hoping i could get some advice which will save me lots of going round in circles.

Basically, i have a 32bit Windows 2003 Server Virtual machine running ISA Server which i want to set up as an EDGE Device on a new (very small and simple) network, but im not sure as to how i do it because i've never set up ISA on a virtual machine before.

I'm assuming i need to set the virtual machine with 2 NICS - one being an internal IP (192.168.1.x) and an External NIC (220.x.x.x)... but what about the internal ADSL modem/router? What setup would i give to the interface of the internal router? (its just a simple SOHO ADSL modem router).

I tried a few web searches but i couldnt find anything really relevant to what i needed... i found a few articles about configuring the NICs ont he ISA Server, but i already know how to do that... what i'm confused about is what the config should be for the ADSL router and how the ISA firewall and ADSL router talk to one another??

Eagerly awaiting any tips....

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I believe that goes against best practices and isn't a supported solution... just FYI.

Regardless, what virtualization software are you using? I've never done this before, but I think you'd either need to use a separate physical NIC for each network and bridge/map the internal and external virtual NICs to their own physical NIC, or if you have something like ESX, you could potentially tag each NIC for a separate VLAN.
  • Hyper-MeHyper-Me Banned Posts: 2,059
    ISA is supported to be run on Hyper-V

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserver2008/en/us/hyperv-app-support.aspx

They even tell you how to plan for it

Security Considerations with Forefront Edge Virtual Deployments