Options

Certs for recent grads?

HazeHaze Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I graduated in May with a BS in Comp. Sci. After a few months of not finding a job, I discovered this forum, and upon reading through dozens of threads I decided to take the CompTIA A+ exam and passed it.

However, I have still not been able to land a job. I have work experience, but my last job was as a Tutor/TA in CS for my university and it seems that that hasn't impressed the employers I have been applying to.

It seems Network+ is something recommended on these forums, but I was wondering that since I have the free time, maybe I should just go for the harder CCNA exam right off the bat and bypass the Network+.
The MCITP also seems like a good option, but there are so many versions of the exam that I can't figure out which would be most valuable.

Any direction that you can offer me would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Welcome to TE!

I know it's hard getting out of college and trying to find IT work. I applaud you for not giving up. Make sure you get your resume together and place it on Monster.com. What is your long term goals for your IT career?

My advice: Knock off the CCNA, and then pursue the MCITP:Enterprise Administrator path. To be honest the Network+ is close to useless unless your employer finds special value in it.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Welcome to TE.

It really depends on what direction you want to go in. Do you want to do programming, networking, or systems administration?

The A+ is a good starter cert, but it's not going to do a whole lot for you. If you're doing the CCNA, I'd definitely skip over the Network+.

The MCITPs still aren't very well known, and you may be better of doing something like the MCDST and then upgrading that to a newer equivalent MCITP, such as the Enterprise Support Technician.
  • Options