Options

On to MCSE?

ian gian g Member Posts: 29 ■■□□□□□□□□
I just finished up my MCSA by passing Security+ a couple of days ago. Now I'm wondering if going for MCSE is worth it.
I'm not in IT just now, as a matter of fact I've been working as an aircraft maintenance technician for the past 13 years and I want to get out. There's plenty of stuff posted about the merits of trying to break into the IT field (mostly negative), and I'm not going to ask about that here. My question is: With no experience in the industry, would anyone even care if I have an MCSE? It seems like I'll be starting at the very bottom of the ladder no matter what I have on paper (that was easy to do 14 years ago - a lot harder now with the wife and kids...)
I'd like to get the cert because it has always been an ambition of mine. However, I don't want to waste my time if nobody is going to look at it.
On paper so far: AAS in CIS -networking, MCSA, CCNA, Sec+

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The MCSE/CCNA combo is great at getting noticed. 293 has a lot of overlap with 291, and then you just have 294 and a design exam (which is essentially just material you've already gone over in a different format). I think it'd be a shame to stop now. You'll definitely have to start lower on the totem pole, but you might be able to skip the bottom rung.
  • Options
    TechnitoTechnito Member Posts: 152