Options

I need to specialize in something? What to do?

laptoplaptop Member Posts: 214
I have an Information Systems Diploma
I have a Bachelor of Commerce degree in IT Management

It looks like I am technical guy. But the program consist of 50% business and 50% technical courses to prepare us to become a Business Systems Analyst.

Over these days, I decided to specialize in Computer Networking. I wouldn't mind starting off as IT call center > Helpdesk > Network technician > Network Analyst > Network Engineer > Network Security

But, how do I start???? Skip CompTIA A+ and start preparing for Network+? or begin with A+? I did read half the Mike Meyer A+ book but i don't like the hardware part....its not sinking into my head although it looks easy. I was also thinking about taking a certificate program but don't want to go back to school at the moment because my parents will yell at me. I've already spent about 4-5 years getting my diploma + degree and I still don't have that technical knowledge at all. I don't even know what I learned from school.

Advice?

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    laptop wrote: »

It looks like I am technical guy. But the program consist of 50% business and 50% technical courses to prepare us to become a Business Systems Analyst.

Over these days, I decided to specialize in Computer Networking. I wouldn't mind starting off as IT call center > Helpdesk > Network technician > Network Analyst > Network Engineer > Network Security