My CIssp experience

slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Member Posts: 665 ■■■■□□□□□□
So after having to reschedule the test, I took it today in Dallas at the Marriot hotel in Addison/ north Dallas. I live about 200 miles away from here so had to stay over night at the hotel,

The hotel was top notch, but pricey. I studied around a year or so, taking some prolonged breaks for work related stuff etc. I used cbt nuggets minimally, All-in-one shon harris mostly, Exam cram for spot review, transcender for random drills and practice test.

After all this time I felt like I had come along way, but felt like app security was my weakest area, this was no surprise since I am not a programmer, I have been involved with some app testing and design related stuff but not nuts and bolts.

So my worst fear would have been drawing an exam booklet that was heavy in this area, and BAM thats exactly what happend, almost no crypto, little network telecom, little operations, little phyiscal security. Even with this being the case I don't think I bombed it, I was able to eliminate alot of questions down to two answers, but felt like alot of these 50/50 situations were open for interpretation, I always feel this way about IT exams and always wish they would do a better job of clearly defining what their asking for.

So I think its close either way and really feel I may have passed it, but I felt good going in and If I had drawn any other book I think I would have no doubts.

So here is a funny story about why I got this particular book, I sat where I did (which caused me to get this book) because I ran into a guy that I was instrumental in getting fired about a 1.5 years ago, I caught him abusing his admin privelages and reported him, so I sat as far from his as possible.