Options

Got a new job today so happy

Hey guys over the last couple of months you might as seen posts about me losing my job.

Well today I have got a new job in a really good company that looks after newspaper such as Express and star and others as well as magazines :)

I will start as a trainee for 6 months to learn more about Unix and Linux they still have windows etc. What I love about about this new job is there is no 1st, 2nd and 3rd line support which means I will get a chance to do server builds etc.

Once I finish as a trainee I will get a 5k rise and once I get my degree which I am half way through I will get another. Losing my job was the best thing to happen to me I will earning more money as a trainee then i did at my last place.

I plan to make the most of this position and within the company. Over 100 applied and only 3 was interview I was the only brought back for a second interview and was offer the job on the spot.

Have a great Christmas Everyone :D

Comments

• Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Congrats dude. Sounds like a good gig. You can use a diverse job like this as your "breakout" position. You will be well positioned in a couple of years to land a really nice admin role somewhere.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • Options
    NinjaBoyNinjaBoy Member Posts: 968
    Congrats on the new job :)

-Ken
  • Options
    thomas130thomas130 Member Posts: 184
    blargoe wrote: »
    Congrats dude. Sounds like a good gig. You can use a diverse job like this as your "breakout" position. You will be well positioned in a couple of years to land a really nice admin role somewhere.