Options

ASA 5505 Routing and Proxy Help!

wedge1988wedge1988 Member Posts: 434 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi, Im new to the cisco area, and im in need of a little help.

My question is simple; can the ASA 5505 Firewall edition take internet requests and forward them to different proxy addresses. the reason being that we have 2 proxy servers in front of the ASA 5505 firewall and they both have different addresses.

Surely this is possible? You cant do it with ISA server 2006 because it only supports proxy redirection to one upstream proxy server, but i need it to direct it to 2!!

Please help!
~ wedge1988 ~ IdioT Certified~
MCSE:2003 ~ MCITP:EA ~ CCNP:R&S ~ CCNA:R&S ~ CCNA:Voice ~ Office 2000 MASTER ~ A+ ~ N+ ~ C&G:IT Diploma ~ Ofqual Entry Japanese

Comments

• Options
    mikearamamikearama Member Posts: 749
    I don't think so. What you're describing would require a load balancer... something like an ACE module in a big Cat switch... which would allow the use of a single VIP IP, which would then spray the requests across your cluster.

The setup in an ASA requires a route-map (from the CLI) where you set the next-hop, and the next hop only permits one IP address.
    IE:
    route-map proxy-redirect permit 10
    match ip address applicable_ACL
    set ip next-hop 192.168.1.2

You might want to investigate WCCP... I see in my 5540's that it allows the create of web cache groups, and the groups can maintain multiple IP's. I just don't know if that feature is available in the '05.
    There are only 10 kinds of people... those who understand binary, and those that don't.

CCIE Studies: Written passed: Jan 21/12 Lab Prep: Hours reading: 385. Hours labbing: 110

Taking a time-out to add the CCVP. Capitalizing on a current IPT pilot project.
  • Options
    Thanks for the reply "mikearama"

I have done a bit of research into this and the 5505 wont support WCCP, but the 5510 does.

I havnt got the ASA firewall yet so ill probably have to go for the 5510.