DSLR users?

nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey,

Just wondering if anyone could give me some advice on a DSLR. ive always fancied an SLR and actually learning how to use the thing correctly after going on many holidays and using a standard point and shoot cam. So i thought when i head to thailand this summer i will fork out and probably buy an DSLR.

Does anyone have any recommendations for an *entry level* DSLR? i have to admit i am a total newb with photography so i dont want anything high end by any means. i also dont want to spend that much on the device which i know will limit me with the purchase. A friend recommended a 2nd hand Nikon D40, which seems to get pretty good reviews for an entry level SLR. these seem to sell for around £200 from what ive seen.

Also, does anyone have any good recommendations for a good how-to DSLR guide in either a website or book format?
Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
WIP: Msc advanced networking

Comments

• bellheadbellhead Member Posts: 120
    I would look around for a local photo group, where I am at in Savanna there are several groups who meet to photograph different things. Also in the US there are intro classes at the local universities.
  • techtrottechtrot Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Some local shops also let you rent equipment. I would recommend renting a camera you are thinking of buying for a day or two to see if you like it and the menus are to your liking. I find it's much better to get your hands on equipment and try it, than trying to learn through a book.
    Good luck
    ~techtrot~
    WIP: CCNA
    Pages read in 2010: ~815 :study:
  • RTmarcRTmarc Member Posts: 1,082 ■■■□□□□□□□