Options

Help desk vs InfoSec internship

7lowe7lowe Member Posts: 178 ■■■□□□□□□□
I graduated last August with my BAS in Network Security and Forensics. So far the only job I've found is at the help desk I'm currently working at as a temp.

I recently saw an opening for paid intern at a company that "performs a variety of security and compliance services for its client base, such as penetration testing, vulnerability assessments, social engineering and war dialing."

The job duties are listed as:
Performing research in support of the Operations team
Assisting Security Analysts in their assigned tasks
Supporting the Client Support staff in their duties
Other tasks as assigned

So, up to that point it seems like that would be a much better job for me than where I am now. But, being an internship it only pays $10 (I'm only making $11.30 now so that's not a huge cut.) The bigger negatives are that it's only part time (20-30hrs/week) and it's located in TX (I live in TN.)

The last part would have me rule it out, but it just so happens that my cousin lives in TX about 45 miles away from the job location and manages an apt. building that his girlfriend owns and has been trying to get me to come visit for quite some time telling me that he could let me stay in one of the empty apts. So, if I could get a free room and maybe a 2nd part time job to boot it could be doable.

So, I want to get opinions here. Does the internship seem like the best idea? Is that the best way for me to get my foot in the door and get in the field?

Comments

• Options
    steve13adsteve13ad Member Posts: 398 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Depends on how you would rather spend your days doing.

Personally I'd go for the internship, it sounds like a better situation. Plus you never know where internships will lead.

Help desk jobs are usually easier to find anyways.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□