Options

::Help:: (CCNA + CCNP) or (RHCT + RHCE)

kaximkaxim Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I have recently finished my graduate degree in Electronics Engineering. I know a little about IT and find my interest inclined towards IT. I have no job experience neither any mentionable IT skills. and i am willing for extensive studying and all.

But now i am researching about how to obtain skills and start a career. Usually i have seen a lot of people in my country that is Pakistan that they start off with CCNA and CCNP and then look for a job and then keep on adding certs under their belt.

I have to keep the following things in my mind:
  • The career the cert provides
  • Total Time Required
  • Certification Cost
here is my analysis of CCNA and CCNP:

Time required would be 6 to 8 months if you start from scratch
Money: approx 1250 USD
- Training Cost: 330$ CCNA and CCNP bundle package from a place that has about 10 CCIE instructors.
- Exam Cost: CCNA = 250$
CCNP = 150$ x 4 = 600$

but i am not sure if i would be able to get a respectable career if i do this. please comment.

according to my research, i have noticed that i could also do RHCT and then RHCE. or directly RHCE as that automatically includes RHCT

- Training Cost: 120$ from an academy that has a certified RHCE and Security+ trainer.
- Time Required: i have no clue how much it will take me to prepare for the exam as i have no prior LINUX experience
- Exam Cost: no clue of the exam cost. couldnt find it on the RedHat site. please inform about the RHCT and RHCE exam cost. and what are the career prospects after RHCE ???

Please help. Appreciate a lot what experienced professionals are providing here. TE is an awesome information source :)

Comments

• Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Why not the CCNA+ RHCT and then work on the CCNP+RHCE?